For Randwick punters like me, the expression evokes the races,  with the grandstand and finishing post in sight.  In the context of this blog and my recent run-in with the risk of cancer, inevitably it will be construed as the title for another Reflection on Death.  I have probably already said more than I need to on that subject.  Life is not a race but its end is nothing more than a finishing line.   I consider myself lucky  to have prepared myself, and, I hope, my family, for the inevitable perhaps imminent event.  Objectively and statistically I am in the final furlong, lucky to have had atheism liberate me from both the fears and illusions so many people continue to suffer.  Recognizing the truth of atheism is one of the best decisions I ever made.

                                                          DELENDA   RELIGIO 

