It’s what I do.

Readers who do not recognize the title as a doctored quotation plagiarized from “Game of Thrones” may be excused – “pitied” would be more appropriate, if I really were as arrogant as I pretend to be.  Somebody said that the best parts of the obsessionally popular TV series are the exchanges of quips between Tyrion Lannister and Lord Varys.  My title is based on one of these pearls, articulated (as ever, immaculately) by my favorite dwarf, whose alcoholism I prefer to ignore.

My claim to knowledge of religion is, I dare to say, an academically and generally recognized fact.  I may not be able to quote all the books of the Old and New Testaments, chapter and verse; though a former priest and Professor of Theology, I was, after all, only a Catholic and not a Protestant.  But I know my stuff, and my Paris professors who gave me my degree “with high distinction”, seem to have agreed.

One does not, of course, need to have spent seven full years in undergraduate and graduate studies of Theology to know how ridiculous religion is.  I’d love to hear what you think is the silliest belief, rule or ritual in the religion that  is – or used to be – yours.  If I get three replies, I’ll tell you mine.

RIDENDA   RELIGIO

 

 

